Taxes
  • Sen. Van Hollen announces a bipartisan agreement on Turkey sanctions during a news conference in Washington

    Democrats Propose New Tax on Millionaires

    By Michael Rainey

    Two Democratic lawmakers unveiled a plan Thursday that would raise taxes on high-income households. Sen. Chris Van Hollen of Maryland and Rep. Don Beyer of Virginia are proposing a 10-percentage...

  • FILE PHOTO - Kentucky Governor Matt Bevin introduces US Vice President Mike Pence to speak about the American Health Care Act during a visit to the Harshaw-Trane Parts and Distribution Center in Louisville

    Medicaid Work Requirements Dealt a Loss in Elections

    By Michael Rainey

    The effort to impose work requirements on Medicaid beneficiaries experienced a setback Tuesday with the apparent defeat of Kentucky Gov. Matt Bevin. Bevin, a Republican, hasn’t conceded defeat in his...

  • Wealthy Could See a Huge Tax Windfall if Obamacare Is Overturned

    By Michael Rainey

    The lawsuit by 18 state attorneys general seeking to invalidate the Affordable Care Act would provide an enormous tax cut for wealthy households if it succeeds, according to an analysis by the Center...

  • U.S. President Trump speaks to reporters as he departs for travel to Kentucky from the South Lawn of the White House in Washington

    Trump’s Florida Tax Move

    President Trump is making Palm Beach, Florida, his primary residence. The New York Times reported Thursday that the president and first lady filed documents in late September making their Mar-a-Lago...

  • U.S. President Trump meets with Pakistan’s Prime Minister Khan at the White House in Washington

    Trump Pushes for More Tax Cuts Ahead of 2020 Election: Report

    By Michael Rainey

    With one eye on the upcoming election and the other on a decelerating economy, President Trump is pushing administration officials and Republican lawmakers to come up with a new package of tax cuts,...

  • Trump Still Mulling Capital-Gains Tax Cut: Report

    President Trump is apparently still considering a plan to cut capital-gains taxes. The Wall Street Journal’s Andrew Restuccia and Kate Davidson report that Trump was set to discuss with his economic...

  • The $15 Trillion Phantom

    By Michael Rainey

    A staggering amount of foreign direct investment is really just “phantom” capital passing through corporate shells, typically to avoid taxes, according to a new study published by economists at the...

  • New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio delivers remarks at his 2018 Inaugural Ceremony at City Hall in Manhattan, New York

    Bill de Blasio Calls for a Robot Tax

    In a piece for Wired , the peripatetic New York mayor and Democratic presidential candidate warns that “automation in our economy is increasing far faster than most people realize, and its impact on...

  • U.S. Treasury Secretary Mnuchin discusses the Trump administration's budget plan during the Peterson Foundation's 2017 Fiscal Summit  in Washington

    Mnuchin Talks More Tax Cuts

    By Michael Rainey

    Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin said Monday that a White House push for another round of tax cuts is a possibility in 2020. “And regards to a middle-class tax cut, you know, we’ll be looking at tax...

  • Mark Sanford speaks at the LPAC conference in Chantilly, Virginia

    Trump Gets a Fiscally Focused Challenger

    By Michael Rainey

    Mark Sanford announced Sunday that he is running for president, becoming the third Republican to challenge President Trump for the nomination in 2020. The former South Carolina congressman said he...

Taxes Directory

Tags
Wednesday, September 19, 2018 - 9:37pm
Tuesday, September 18, 2018 - 9:55pm
Monday, September 17, 2018 - 10:15pm
Monday, September 17, 2018 - 10:06pm
Friday, September 14, 2018 - 9:56pm
Thursday, September 13, 2018 - 9:31pm
Tuesday, September 11, 2018 - 9:45pm
Tuesday, September 11, 2018 - 8:45pm
Monday, September 10, 2018 - 4:22pm
Friday, September 7, 2018 - 8:45pm
Thursday, September 6, 2018 - 9:04pm
Thursday, September 6, 2018 - 8:55pm
Thursday, September 6, 2018 - 8:51pm
Tuesday, September 4, 2018 - 4:27pm
Saturday, September 1, 2018 - 1:03am
Wednesday, August 29, 2018 - 9:00pm
Tuesday, August 28, 2018 - 6:53pm
Thursday, August 23, 2018 - 9:36pm
Tuesday, August 21, 2018 - 3:37pm
Friday, August 17, 2018 - 8:58pm
Wednesday, August 15, 2018 - 9:24pm
Monday, August 13, 2018 - 9:21pm
Monday, August 13, 2018 - 9:17pm
Thursday, August 9, 2018 - 9:40pm
Wednesday, August 8, 2018 - 9:23pm
Wednesday, August 8, 2018 - 8:41pm
Thursday, August 2, 2018 - 9:37pm
Wednesday, August 1, 2018 - 9:08pm
Wednesday, August 1, 2018 - 8:26pm
Monday, July 30, 2018 - 9:30pm
Friday, July 27, 2018 - 8:45pm

Pages